For Immediate Release | 1-7-19      
  Media Contact | Nick Debus      
  Direct | 602-542-0728      
  E-Mail |      

Arizona Corporation Commission Elects Commissioner Bob Burns as New Chairman

PHOENIX — The Arizona Corporation Commission met today to swear-in two new Commissioners and to elect a new Chairman following the departure of former Chairman Tom Forese. Commissioners voted to elect Commissioner Bob Burns as the body's new Chairman.
"I wish to thank the Commissioners for providing me the opportunity to serve them as their chairman as we work together to serve the ratepayers and citizens of Arizona," said Chairman Burns. "I believe that when the founders created the Arizona Corporation Commission they intended that each member would have equal responsibility and authority. In order to exercise that responsibility and authority, I invite all members of this Commission, to at any time, bring ideas or proposals to me that they wish to have discussed and I will include them on a Commission Staff Meeting for discussion and debate."
Chairman Burns has been a member of the 5-person elected Commission since 2012. Prior to serving on the Arizona Corporation Commission, Chairman Burns served in the Arizona House of Representatives and was President of the Arizona State Senate. This is his final term at the Corporation Commission.
To watch a live broadcast or archived video go to
# # #
The Arizona Corporation Commission was established by the state's constitution to regulate public utilities and business incorporation. The five Commissioners elected to the Corporation Commission oversee executive, legislative, and judicial proceedings on behalf of Arizonans when it comes to their water, electricity, telephone, and natural gas resources as well as the regulation of securities, pipeline, and railroad safety. To learn more about the Arizona Corporation Commission and its Commissioners, visit