For Immediate Release | 1-7-19      
  Media Contact | Nick Debus      
  Direct | 602-542-0728      
  E-Mail |      

Arizona Corporation Commission Swearing-In Ceremony

PHOENIX — The Arizona Corporation Commission today held a swearing-in ceremony for Commissioner Sandra Kennedy and Commissioner Justin Olson, who were elected to office this past November. The Corporation Commission is composed of five statewide elected Commissioners who serve four-year staggered terms. Commissioners Kennedy and Olson will be joining fellow Commissions Bob Burns, Andy Tobin, and Boyd Dunn who were elected in 2016.
The ceremony began with farewell remarks from outgoing Chairman Tom Forese. "I want to thank you for the opportunity to serve as Chairman of this Commission," said Chairman Forese. "I trust that the Commission is in good hands moving forward and look forward to watching all the good work that you will do in the future."
Commissioner Justin Olson was sworn-in by Arizona Supreme Court Justice Clint Bolick. "I am humbled to have received the support of Arizona voters to serve a full term at the Corporation Commission," said Commissioner Olson. "My vision is a Commission that strives to improve the experience and satisfaction of all Arizonans in their interactions with their utility companies and with the Commission itself."
Commissioner Sandra Kennedy was then sworn-in to office by Judge Carol Scott Berry. "I am here to deliver on my campaign promises to stop the corruption, to stop unjustified rate increases, to lower rates that were unjustly raised, and to make Arizona the solar capital of the world," said Commissioner Kennedy.
Following the swearing-in of both new Commissioners, the newly composed Corporation Commission gathered to elect a new Chairman. In a 5-0 vote, Commissioner Bob Burns was selected to be the next Chairman of the Arizona Corporation Commission.
To watch a live broadcast or archived video go to
# # #
The Arizona Corporation Commission was established by the state's constitution to regulate public utilities and business incorporation. The five Commissioners elected to the Corporation Commission oversee executive, legislative, and judicial proceedings on behalf of Arizonans when it comes to their water, electricity, telephone, and natural gas resources as well as the regulation of securities, pipeline, and railroad safety. To learn more about the Arizona Corporation Commission and its Commissioners, visit