Master Meter Policy Update Arizona Corporation Commission

Owner/Operator Options

Retain ownership, make required repairs and perform regular maintenance

- or -

Contact your gas provider to discuss alternative solutions

If you have questions about these new requirements, please contact our Pipeline Safety Division

602-262-5601 safety@azcc.gov

http://azcc.gov

New compliance requirements starting January 1, 2019

In a move to enhance public safety, the Arizona Corporation Commission voted to approve and adopt a new policy regarding natural and propane gas master meter systems throughout the state. The new policy, adopted November 27, 2018, requires existing master meter systems, within a 5-year grace period lasting through December 31, 2023, to be compliant with all state and federal laws. The new policy also requires a more comprehensive annual inspection. Although the Commission does not intend to pursue full enforcement within the 5-year grace period, the Commission retains its authority to shut down systems that pose an immediate threat to public safety.

Owner/Operators of master meter systems failing to operate and maintain their gas system in accordance with pipeline safety regulations may lead to potential health and safety risks. When such systems go down, critical utility services such as hot water and heat may be affected.

