Lea Márquez Peterson

Lea Márquez Peterson

Commissioner Lea Márquez Peterson was elected to the Arizona Corporation Commission in November 2020. She was sworn-in on January 4, 2021 and elected by her fellow commissioners to lead the Commission as Chair which she served for two years.

Prior to November 2020, Commissioner Lea Márquez Peterson was appointed to the Commission by Governor Doug Ducey in May 2019. With her appointment, she became the first Latina to serve in a statewide office in the state of Arizona. She is the only commissioner based in Southern Arizona. Her first term ends in 2025. She will be eligible to run for a second in 2024.

Lea has been an entrepreneur in Arizona for many years and supports Arizona’s small business community and economic development. She was honored to be selected as the 2022 Hispanic Business Woman of the Year by the United States Hispanic Chamber. She served as the President/CEO of the Tucson Hispanic Chamber from 2009 until November of 2018 and the Executive Director of Greater Tucson Leadership (GTL) from 2005 to 2009. While Lea was serving as President/CEO of the Tucson Hispanic Chamber in 2013, the Tucson Hispanic Chamber was recognized by the U.S. Hispanic Chamber of Commerce as the Hispanic Chamber of the Year.

From 2005 to 2009 Lea owned and operated a Business Brokerage Firm and from 1998 to 2005, she built and operated a chain of six gasoline stations/convenience stores with 50 employees in the Tucson region.

In her capacity as Commissioner, Lea serves on the board of EPRI, the Electric Power Research Institute, and as Vice Chair for WIRAB, the western interconnection reliability activities board. Additionally, she serves as co-Vice Chair of the Water Committee and co-chairs the nuclear power subcommittee for the National Association of Regulated Utility Commissioners. She also serves on the Advisory Council to the Center for Public Utilities at New Mexico State University.

Lea has been appointed to serve on the Arizona Judicial Council, which advises the Arizona Supreme Court and formerly served on the Arizona Finance Authority, the state's bonding authority. She is the past Chair and serves on the Tenet Health Board of Directors of Carondelet's St Mary's and St Joseph's Hospitals in Tucson and is the former Chair of the Pima Association of Governments' Economic Vitality Committee. She serves on the Board of the Pima County Workforce Investment Board and is the past President of the National Association of Women Business Owners in Tucson. She is also the past chair and serves on the Board of the national Small Business Development Council for the U.S Small Business Administration.

She has been recognized with a 2022 Woman of Influence in the Region by Biz Tucson Magazine, as a 2021 Most Influential Women in Arizona Business Recognition by AZ Big Media, the 2021 Jack Jewett Award by Arizona Center for Civic Leadership, as well as a University of Arizona Distinguished Alumni Award.

She received her undergraduate degrees in Marketing and Entrepreneurship from the University of Arizona, and her Master of Business Administration from Pepperdine University. She resides in Tucson and is married with two children.

Stay Connected

Check here to sign up for Consumer Alerts from the Corporation Division. To receive alerts for your business register at eCorp.azcc.gov.Please call 602-542-3026 with questions for the Corporations Division.

Check here to sign up for Notices and Agendas for Commission Meetings, Hearings and Appearances.Please call 602-542-3931 with any questions.

Check here to receive the latest Commission News Releases and information. Please call 602-542-0728 with any questions.

Arizona Corporation Commission

1200 W. Washington Street

Phoenix, AZ 85007


Corporations Division

1300 W. Washington Street

Phoenix, AZ 85007


Tucson Office (Walk-ins only)

400 W. Congress Street

Tucson, AZ 85701